Visual Aids in the Classroom

Common Core and the Importance of Visual Learning in the Classroom

Throughout my experiences in the classroom and designing lesson plans, I have often witnessed students struggle to make connections between required material and their own knowledge. To combat this, sometimes various instructional methods that use visual aids will help students place their ideas into practice. For example, sometimes using a simple visual to hook students into a new topic will facilitate thinking about what the picture means to them. In addition, we will have more time as a class to discuss connections compared to using a video.

Using an anchor chart is perhaps the most interesting aspect of learning how to teach using visual aids that I wish to implement. An anchor chart is a description of learning that allows me to describe what I am thinking about as I work to demonstrate understanding for my students. By doing this, students can have an example that can kickstart their thinking about particular subjects in class. This strategy can also assist in the transition to independent learning, as students progress from simply watching a demonstration to actively suggesting what is placed on an anchor chart to fully support understanding.

Leave a comment